Joint media release of the United States, Australia, Canada, Chile, Japan, the Republic of Korea, and New Zealand on the occasion of the APEC Ministers Responsible for Trade meeting, 21-22 May 2022

May 22, 2022

“We express our unwavering support for APEC and are fully committed to helping Thailand, as APEC Chair in 2022, deliver a successful host year. 
"We are united in our resolve to ensure peace and stability in our region and to uphold international law, recognizing these are preconditions for the inclusive and sustainable economic growth for which we strive.
"We condemn in the strongest terms, the unprovoked war of aggression by Russia against Ukraine.
"We express our grave concern at the deteriorating humanitarian situation and at the threatening of food and energy security in the world caused by Russia’s actions, which has further destabilized the global economy and global supply chains as well as undermined our ability to recover from COVID-19.
"We express our concern regarding volatility in energy markets and underscore the need to promote energy resilience, access, and security in the region. 
"Similarly, we affirm our commitment to a well-functioning food system, which is critical to our people’s health and wellbeing and to the success of our economies.  A rise in food insecurity, due to Russia’s invasion, is being felt around the world, and disproportionately by the most vulnerable.
"Reaffirming the importance of the rules-based international order that underpins an open, dynamic, resilient and peaceful Asia-Pacific region, we strongly urge Russia to immediately cease its use of force and completely and unconditionally withdraw all of its military forces from Ukraine.”