Biographies of Key Officials

Many of USTR's senior officials are lawyers and economists with extensive backgrounds in trade law. The senior staff includes about 30 key officials appointed by the U.S. Trade Representative who supervise trade negotiations, monitor trade disputes, enforce laws, and keep a constant flow of communication with Congress, industry, nongovernmental organizations and the public on U.S. trade policy.

United States Trade Representative

Katherine Tai

Deputy United States Trade Representative

Jayme White

Deputy United States Trade Representative

Sarah Bianchi

Deputy United States Trade Representative and Chief of Mission, Geneva


Chief Agricultural Negotiator


Chief of Staff
Nora Todd

Deputy Chief of Staff
Ginna Lance

General Counsel
Greta Peisch

Brad Setser
Senior Advisor
Elizabeth Baltzan
Senior Advisor
Jamila Thompson
Other Senior Officials and Assistant U. S. Trade Representatives (AUSTR)

Fred Ames, AUSTR for Administration

Sirat Attapit, AUSTR for Intergovernmental Affairs and Public Engagement

Michael Beeman, AUSTR for Japan, Korea, and APEC 

Jan Beukelman, AUSTR for Congressional Affairs 

Allison Smith, DAUSTR for Congressional Affairs

Samuel Negatu, DAUSTR for Congressional Affairs

David Bisbee, Deputy Chief of Mission, Geneva

Julie Callahan, AUSTR for Agricultural Affairs and Commodity Policy

William Shpiece, AUSTR for Trade Policy and Economics (Acting)

Constance Hamilton, AUSTR for Africa

Adam Hodge, AUSTR Media & Public Affairs

Kamau Marshall, DAUSTR Media & Public Affairs

Bill Jackson, AUSTR for Textiles

Josh Kagan, Acting AUSTR for Labor

Daniel Lee, AUSTR for Innovation and Intellectual Property

Terrence J. McCartin, AUSTR for China Affairs

Juan Millan, AUSTR for Monitoring and Enforcement 

Kelly Milton, AUSTR for Environment & Natural Resources

L. Daniel Mullaney, AUSTR for Europe and the Middle East

Dawn Shackleford, AUSTR for Southeast Asia and the Pacific

Maria Pagan, Deputy General Counsel

Jim Sanford, AUSTR for Small Business, Market Access, and Industrial Competitiveness

Kenneth Schagrin, AUSTR for Services and Investment  (Acting)

Kent Shigetomi, AUSTR for WTO and Multilateral Affairs (Acting)

Shantanu Tata, Executive Secretary and Advisor 

Tommy Wolfe, Deputy Executive Secretary

Daniel Watson, AUSTR for the Western Hemisphere

Christopher Wilson, AUSTR South and Central Asia