Information Technology

The Information Technology Agreement is a plurilateral agreement to eliminate tariffs on certain information and communications technology (ICT) products.  The ITA covers a wide range of ICT products, including computers and computer peripheral equipment, electronic components including semiconductors, computer software, telecommunications equipment, semiconductor manufacturing equipment, and computer-based analytical instruments.  To date, 82 WTO Members are ITA participants representing 97 percent of world trade in ICT products.

The Expansion of Trade in Information Technology Products:

The United States and over 50 WTO Members concluded an agreement to expand the list of ICT products subject to duty elimination in 2015.  This agreement, referred to as “ITA Expansion,” builds on the 1996 ITA and commits parties to phase out hundreds of tariffs on additional ICT products.  ITA Expansion requires tariff elimination on a list of 201 products, including advanced semiconductors, high-tech medical devices, global positioning systems, software media, video game consoles, and high-tech ICT testing instrumentation.  Under ITA Expansion, over $180 billion in annual American technology exports will no longer face burdensome tariffs in key markets around the globe

Related agreements:

Text of the 2015 ITA Expansion
Text of the 1996 ITA

ITA Expansion schedules