As a party to the Chemical Tariff Harmonization Agreement (CTHA) from the WTO’s Uruguay Round, the United States maintains tariff rates for chemicals that range from zero to 6.5 percent.   The CTHA defines the chemicals sector as all tariff lines Harmonized Schedule Chapters 28-39, which includes organic and inorganic chemicals, pharmaceuticals, plastics, fertilizers, agro-chemicals, paints and dyes, and cosmetics.

The original participants in the CTHA are:

  • Canada

  • European Union

  • Japan

  • Korea

  • Norway

  • Singapore

  • Switzerland

  • United States

Since the Uruguay Round, a number of countries, including those listed below, have applied most or all of the CTHA as part of their accession to the WTO:

  • Albania

  • Armenia

  • China

  • Chinese Taipei

  • Croatia

  • Estonia

  • Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

  • Georgia

  • Jordan

  • Kyrgyz Republic

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Moldova

  • Mongolia

  • Oman

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Ukraine

  • Vietnam

Related topics:

Non-Tariff Barriers