You are here

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation

APEC logo

Comprised of twenty-one “member economies,” the APEC forum operates on the basis of non-binding commitments. APEC membership includes: Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; the Philippines; the Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei (Taiwan); Thailand; the United States of America; Viet Nam.

Key to achieving APEC's vision are what are referred to as the 'Bogor Goals' of free and open trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific. This goal was adopted by Leaders at their 1994 meeting in Bogor, Indonesia.

U.S. Trade and Investment Liberalization Initiatives at APEC

USTR represents the United States on critical trade and investment liberalization initiatives at APEC, with the goal of delivering for U.S. exporters concrete and meaningful results that break down barriers to trade in the Asia-Pacific, create jobs, and contribute to economic growth.