Byrd Amendment

Joint complaint by Australia, Brazil, Chile, European Communities, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea and Thailand (WT/DS217), and Canada and Mexico (WT/DS234).

On 21 December 2000 and 21 May 2001 respectively, the complainants requested consultations with the US concerning the amendment to the Tariff Act of 1930 signed on 28 October 2000 with the title of "Continued Dumping and Subsidy Offset Act of 2000" (the "Act") usually referred to as "the Byrd Amendment".