USTR Announces Reallocation of Fiscal Year 2021 WTO Tariff-Rate Quota Volume for Raw Cane Sugar

November 03, 2021

WASHINGTON -- The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative today announced the reallocation of the unused country-specific quota allocations under the tariff-rate quota (TRQ) on imported raw cane sugar for Fiscal Year (FY) 2021.  On October 29, 2021, the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced that all sugar entering the United States under the FY 2021 raw sugar TRQ would be permitted to enter U.S. Customs territory through December 31, 2021, extended from an earlier extension to October 31, 2021.   

TRQs allow countries to export specified quantities of a product into the United States at a relatively low tariff, but subject all imports of the product above a pre-determined threshold to a higher tariff.

On July 9, 2020, the Secretary of Agriculture established the FY 2021 TRQ for imported raw cane sugar at the minimum amount to which the United States committed to pursuant to the World Trade Organization (WTO) Uruguay Round Agreements (1,117,195 metric tons raw value (MTRV)).  On July 22, 2020, USTR provided notice of country-by-country allocations of the FY 2021 in-quota quantity of the WTO TRQ for imported raw cane sugar.  On July 9, 2021, USTR announced an initial reallocation of 76,571 MTRV of the original TRQ quantity.  On August 24, 2021, the Secretary of Agriculture announced an additional in-quota quantity of the TRQ for raw cane sugar for the remainder of FY 2021 in the amount of 90,100 MTRV.  On August 26, 2021, USTR provided notice of country-by-country allocations of the FY 2021 in-quota additional quantity of the WTO TRQ for imported raw cane sugar.  Based on consultation with quota holders, USTR has determined to reallocate 29,440 MTRV of the overall FY 2021 TRQ quantity from those countries that have stated they do not plan to fill their FY 2021 allocated raw cane sugar quantities.  USTR is allocating the 29,440 MTRV to the following countries in the amounts specified below:  

Country FY 2021 Raw Sugar Unused Reallocation (MTRV)
Argentina 1,629
Australia 3,145
Belize 417
Bolivia 303
Brazil 5,494
Colombia 909
Costa Rica 568
Dominican Republic 6,668
Ecuador 417
El Salvador 985
Eswatini (Swaziland) 606
Fiji 341
Guatemala 1,819
Guyana 455
Honduras 379
India 303
Malawi 379
Mauritius 455
Mozambique 493
Nicaragua 796
Peru 1,553
South Africa 871
Zimbabwe 455

The allocations of the raw cane sugar WTO TRQ to countries that are net importers of sugar are conditioned on receipt of the appropriate verifications of origin.  Certificates for quota eligibility must accompany imports from any country for which an allocation has been provided.

Conversion factor: 1 metric ton = 1.10231125 short tons.