Content on this archived webpage is NOT UPDATED, and external links may not function. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views contained therein.

Click here to go to the CURRENT USTR.GOV WEBSITE


Statement of USTR Rob Portman Regarding Entry Into Force of the U.S. - Central America - Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR) for El Salvador

February 24, 2006

"I am pleased to make a recommendation today that the President issue a
proclamation to implement the CAFTA-DR agreement for El Salvador as of March 1,

"El Salvador is the first country to receive this recommendation from USTR.
We have worked closely with El Salvador over the past several months to ensure
its legislative and regulatory regime reflects the obligations and
responsibilities set forth in the CAFTA-DR agreement. We have engaged in this
effort as true partners, and I appreciate all of the hard work the Government of
El Salvador has undertaken to help us reach this historic milestone.

"We will continue our work with all of our CAFTA-DR partners to ensure timely
and full implementation of the agreement. We hope and expect that we will be
able to bring additional CAFTA-DR partners into the agreement soon."


The United States, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador,
Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua signed the CAFTA-DR in August 2004. All but
Costa Rica have ratified the Agreement. El Salvador was the first to ratify in
December 2004. Nicaragua was the most recent, in September 2005.

Implementing legislation for the CAFTA-DR passed the U.S. Senate in June 2005
and the House of Representatives in July 2005 and was signed by the President in
August 2005.