Content on this archived webpage is NOT UPDATED, and external links may not function. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views contained therein.

Click here to go to the CURRENT USTR.GOV WEBSITE


USDA and USTR Name New Members to Agricultural Trade Advisory Committees

June 28, 2012


Washington, D.C. – U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack and U.S. Trade Representative Ron Kirk today announced the appointment of sixteen additional members to six agricultural trade advisory committees.

“USDA and USTR rely on the advice and counsel these committees provide on trade issues,” said Secretary Vilsack. “With U.S. exports of food and agricultural products expected to reach the second highest level ever this fiscal year, trade contributes substantially to a healthy agricultural economy. These new members broaden the spectrum of U.S. agricultural experts that we can consult with on the committees as we formulate our trade strategy. This helps ensure that we provide the best support we can to our farmers, ranchers and related agribusinesses so they can continue their strong exports.”

“The addition of these new members will bring important new perspectives to the committees,” said Ambassador Kirk. “The input and advice received from the committee members is critically important as we work to carry out President Obama’s ambitious trade agenda.”

Congress established the advisory committee system in 1974 to ensure U.S. agricultural trade policy objectives reflect U.S. commercial and economic interests. The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and USTR jointly manage the committees.

These committees provide advice and information to the Secretary of Agriculture and the U.S. Trade Representative on negotiating objectives and positions, and other matters related to the development and administration of U.S. agricultural trade policy. The Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee is comprised of senior representatives from across the agricultural community and provides advice on general trade policy matters. The Agricultural Technical Advisory Committees offer technical advice and information on specific product sectors.

These are the first supplemental appointments made since the committees were reappointed in September 2011. Additional appointments will be made from time to time. Applications are encouraged at any time and will be reviewed periodically. Information about applying is available at Questions may be directed to Steffon Brown at 202-720-6219 or via e-mail to

Newly appointed members by committee are:

Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee for Trade



Sean J. Darragh

Grocery Manufacturers Association

Dr. Won W. Koo

North Dakota State University

Mark D. Lauritsen

United Food and Commercial Workers Union

Robert J. Underbrink

King Ranch, Inc.

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Animals and Animal Products



Arne M. Anderson

United Food and Commercial Workers Union

Jalel F. Aossey

Midamar Corporation

William Westman

American Meat Institute

Douglas D. Wolf

Wolf L&G Farms, LLC

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Grains, Feed, Oilseeds and Planting Seeds 



Ellen D. Joslin

W.R. Joslin and Son, Inc.

Peter J. Klaiber

USA Dry Pea and Lentil Council

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Processed Foods



John T. Allan, III

American Frozen Food Institute

Andrew Anderson

Western United States Agricultural Trade Association

Richard Sadler

Dundee Fruit Company

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Sweeteners and Sweetener Products



Donald Phillips

American Sugar Alliance

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Tobacco, Cotton and Peanuts



Fred Baine

Golden Peanut Company

James C. Pate

Rowland Farms, Inc.