Content on this archived webpage is NOT UPDATED, and external links may not function. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views contained therein.

Click here to go to the CURRENT USTR.GOV WEBSITE


USTR Announces Revised Fiscal Year 2012 Tariff-Rate Quota Allocations for Raw Cane Sugar

April 20, 2012

Washington, D.C. – The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) today announced the country-specific in-quota allocations of additional Fiscal Year (FY) 2012 for imported raw cane sugar and of country-specific reallocations of the FY 2012 in-quota quantity of the tariff-rate quota (TRQ) for imported raw cane sugar. TRQs allow countries to export specified quantities of a product to the United States at a relatively low tariff, but subject all imports of the product above a pre-determined threshold to a higher tariff.

On April 19, 2011, Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack announced an additional in-quota quantity for the TRQ for raw cane sugar for the remainder of FY 2012 (ending September 30, 2012) in the amount of 381,018 metric tons* raw value (MTRV). This quantity is in addition to the minimum amount to which the United States is committed under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Uruguay Round Agreements.

USTR has also determined to reallocate 73,446 MTRV of the minimum amount of the original TRQ for raw cane sugar from countries that have stated they will be unable to fill previously allocated FY 2012 raw sugar TRQ quantities.

USTR is allocating this total quantity of 454,463 MTRV to the following countries in the quantities specified below:

Country    FY 2012 Raw Cane Sugar Combined Reallocations and Increase (MTRV)

Argentina 24,061

Australia 46,443

Barbados 3,917

Belize 6,155

Bolivia 4,476

Brazil 81,136

Colombia 13,430

Costa Rica 8,393

Dominican Republic 30,000

Ecuador 6,155

El Salvador 14,548

Guatemala 26,858

Guyana 6,714

Honduras 5,596

India 4,476

Mauritius 2,000

Mozambique 7,275

Nicaragua 11,751

Panama 16,227

Peru 22,942

Philippines 75,540

South Africa 12,869

Swaziland 8,953

Thailand 7,834

Zimbabwe 6,714

These allocations are based on the countries’ historical shipments to the United States. The allocations of the raw cane sugar TRQ to countries that are net importers of sugar are conditioned on receipt of the appropriate verifications of origin, and certificates for quota eligibility must accompany imports from any country to which an allocation is provided.

*Conversion factor: 1 metric ton = 1.10231125 short tons.