Office of the United States Trade Representative
Caribbean Basin Initiative

The trade programs known collectively as the Caribbean Basin Initiative (CBI) remain a vital element in the United States’ economic relations with its neighbors in Central America and the Caribbean. The CBI is intended to facilitate the economic development and export diversification of the Caribbean Basin economies. Initially launched in 1983 through the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act (CBERA), and substantially expanded in 2000 through the U.S.-Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA), the CBI currently provides 19 beneficiary countries with duty-free access to the U.S. market for most goods.

CBTPA entered into force on October 1, 2000 and continues in effect until September 30, 2010 or the date, if sooner, on which the FTAA or another free trade agreement as described in legislation enters into force between the United States and a CBTPA beneficiary country.

There are currently nineteen countries that benefit from the CBI program and, therefore, may potentially benefit from CBTPA. These countries are: Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles,Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago.

Seventh Report to Congress on the Operation of the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act
Sixth Report to Congress on the Operation of the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act
Department of Commerce's CBI Website
Department of Treasury's CBI Website
Department of State's Website on the Caribbean

Help Link Site Map Link Contact Us Link
 Search Title Image
Document Library Link
More on Preference Programs
item: Preference Programs Home
item: Generalized System of Preferences
item: African Growth and Opportunity Act
item: Andean Trade Preference Act
item: Caribbean Basin Initiative