The United Nations' Economic and Social Committee (ECOSOC) maintains a list of 49 Least Developed Countries (LDCs), i.e., low-income countries facing severe structural handicaps to growth based on criteria, such as per capita GDP, share of manufacturing in GDP, percentage of the population undernourished, mortality rate of children under five years of age, adult literacy, etc.

Thirty-two of these countries are already WTO Members. The most recently acceded LDC was Cape Verde, which became a Member on July 23, 2008. Cape Verde "graduated" from LDC status soon after completing its accession process. Cambodia and Nepal acceded to the WTO in 2004, and the other thirty become GATT 1947 Contracting Parties (and later WTO Members) automatically when they gained political independence from original GATT members that had applied the Agreement on their behalf. Twelve LDCs have requested accession to the WTO. Their negotiations are in various stages of completion. Five additional countries have no current WTO affiliation

WTO Accession

No WTO

Members	Appli	cants	Affiliation
Country	Date of inclusion	Country	Date of inclusion
	on the list		on the list
1. Afghanistan	1971	26. Malawi	1971
2. Angola	1994	27. Maldives 1	1971
3. Bangladesh	1975	28. Mali	1971
4. Benin	1971	29. Mauritania	1986
5. Bhutan	1971	30. Mozambique	1988
6. Burkina Faso	1971	31. Myanmar	1987
7. Burundi	1971	32. Nepal	1971
8. Cambodia	1991	33. Niger	1971
9. Central African Rep.	1975	34. Rwanda	1971
10. Chad	1971	35. Samoa 2	1971
11. Comoros	1977	36. Sao Tome and Principe	1982
12. Dem. Rep. of the	1991	37. Senegal	2000
Congo			
13. Djibouti	1982	38. Sierra Leone	1982
14. Equatorial Guinea	1982	39. Solomon Islands	1991
15. Eritrea	1994	40. Somalia	1971
16. Ethiopia	1971	41. Sudan	1971
17. Gambia	1975	42. Timor-Leste	2003
18. Guinea	1971	43. Togo	1982
19. Guinea-Bissau	1981	44. Tuvalu	1986
20. Haiti	1971	45. Uganda	1971
21. Kiribati	1986	46. United Rep. of	1971
		Tanzania	
22. Lao People's Dem.	1971	47. Vanuatu	1985
Rep.			
23. Lesotho	1971	48. Yemen	1971
24. Liberia	1990	49. Zambia	1991
25. Madagascar	1991		

<sup>1.</sup> Maldives will graduate in January 2011.

<sup>2.</sup> In July 2007, ECOSOC endorsed the recommendation of the CDP that Samoa be graduated. Samoa will graduate from the list, on December 2010 three years after the General Assembly took note of the recommendation