Brian T. Petty, SVP Government Affairs International Association of Drilling Contractors 1901 L Street, N.W. Suite 702 Washington, DC 20036

15 November 2005

The Honorable Rob Portman United States Trade Representative Executive Office of the President Washington, DC 20508

Dear Ambassador Portman:

Pursuant to Section 2104 (e) of the Trade Act of 2002 and Section 135 (e) of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended, I am pleased to transmit the report of the Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Automotive Equipment and Capital Goods (ITAC 2) on the US-Oman-FTA, reflecting consensus on the proposed Agreement.

Sincerely,

Brian T. Petty Chair, ITAC 2 ITAC 2

ITAC 2 Advisory Committee Report to the President, the Congress, and the United States Trade Representative on the US-Oman FTA

I. Purpose of the Committee Report

Section 2104 (e) of the Trade Act of 2002 requires that advisory committees provide the President, the U.S. Trade Representative, and Congress with reports required under Section 135 (e) of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended, not later than 30 days after the President notifies Congress of his intent to enter into an agreement.

Under Section 135 (e) of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended, the report of the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations and each appropriate policy advisory committee must include an advisory opinion as to whether and to what extent the agreement promotes the economic interests of the United States and achieves the applicable overall and principle negotiation objectives set forth in the Trade Act of 2002.

Pursuant to these requirements, ITAC 2 hereby submits the following report.

II. Executive Summary of Committee Report

ITAC 2 supports the US-Oman FTA, without reservation.

III. Brief Description of the Mandate of ITAC 2

The Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Automotive Equipment and Capital Goods (the Committee) is established by the Secretary of Commerce (the Secretary) and the United States Trade Representative (the USTR) pursuant to the authority of section 135 (c)(2) of the 1974 Trade Act (Public Law 93-618), as delegated by Executive Order 11846 of March 27, 1975. In establishing the Committee, the Secretary , and the USTR consulted with interested private organizations and took into account the factors set forth in section 135 (c)(2)(B) of the Act.

IV. Advisory Committee Opinion on Agreement

See Executive Summary

V. Membership of Committee (list of members)

Brian T. Petty	Jon E. Jenson	John J. Meakem	Franklin J. Vargo
Stephen J. Collins	Leo (Lee) P. Kadrich	G. Mustafa	L. Ann Wilson
Durga D. Agrawal	William C. Lane	Mohaterem,Ph. D.	Nick S. Yaksich
Gary F. Devlin	Stephen Latin-Kasper	Robert S. Perkins	A. Steven Young
Thomas M. Egan	Curtis N. Magleby	John W. Rauber, Jr.	
David R. Gridley	Robert D. McDonald	Linda M. Spencer	
Leslie A. Hennessy	Patrick W. McGibbon	Thomas L. Trueblood	